About RLC

Rancho Learning Center is home to innovative educational opportunities for students/families interested in personalized learning options for students in grades 1-12.

The school site and campus are located on the lower floor of the Arcadia Education Center. The faculty is composed of eight Teachers, one full-time Counselor, a School Psychologist, a Registrar and the Principal. The Educators in each of our programs help students reach their goals by providing instruction, monitoring progress, and providing ongoing feedback. An individualized approach to instruction is utilized for every student.

In all of our Rancho programs you will find a learning environment that challenges each student’s intellect while remaining focused on the ‘whole child’. You won’t find school bells, and you won’t find passing periods or a designated recess time. You will find Mindfulness activities, Physical Education, and a beautiful outdoor classroom. We also have an outdoor sport activity court for recreation and class instruction. 

We offer small academic and learning groups to meet our students’ individual needs. We embrace a Strengths-based model as our students use the Naviance platform to explore their personal post-secondary college/career path. We embrace character education through the Leader in Me program and we utilize Restorative Practices as a means to build community. We celebrate that community in various ways each month of the school year. We have just added an electronic Kindness Wall platform where students can anonymously submit kind thoughts to their classmates or teachers. We are intentional about cultivating and sharing kindness at Rancho! Check out our Website to see Kindness on digital display!

Students at Rancho are afforded the opportunity to design an educational program to meet their needs. Students can participate in percussion/performing arts instruction and can perform at various school and district events. Students are invited to ‘hybrid’ enroll at their home-school sites to participate in a selected elective class, or perhaps join a theater or athletic program. Also, students can have the opportunity to participate in ‘community classroom’, where students earn elective credit while working side-by-side with a local business mentor. An ongoing guest speaker series gives students a glimpse into career paths of local entrepreneurs.

You can learn more about all the various programs at Rancho by downloading our brochure on this website - and also planning a visit with us at any time!

If Rancho sounds like the right educational fit, please reach out to us and schedule a time to meet with faculty/staff. We look forward to seeing how we can best meet your student’s needs.
 
Explore Rancho's Programs:
Independent Study - Grades TK-8 (In-person or On-line Options)
*A voluntary program that provides support to parents teaching their children at home.
*A program that allows students a flexible and personalized learning environment, both at home and at weekly school meetings.
*A program that follows Arcadia Unified School District grade level standards and curriculum guidelines
 
Independent Study - Rancho High School - Grades 9-12 (In-person ONLY)
Rancho High School provides an educational opportunity through independent study and inspires students to excellence.

Opportunity Program
Grades 7-12 (In-person ONLY)
Students assigned to the Opportunity Program are working to correct academic, attendance, and/or behavior issues that have interfered with their personal school success. It is an intensive 5 hour per day program. The classroom is self-contained. Student instruction is individualized to meet the unique needs of each student.
 
Lab School
Graduating Class of 2026 (In-person ONLY)
Unique in its small setting, the Lab School works to develop empathetic students who use new learning to solve real-world problems. Building confidence in taking risks, asking questions, and using agency, are skills students may gain in their time at Lab School. Students should be comfortable with the productive struggle found in a rigorous and highly collaborative academic community. Current initiatives include flexible seating, project based learning, narrative-based grading, and a personalized learning platform. An electronic platform is utilized to curate lessons and communicate with families. Students are afforded cross-curricular opportunities. Students create and collaborate with their peers and educators on a daily basis. It is critical that students enjoy working collaboratively with others, and that each student has initiative and self discipline in their motivation to learn. Our goal is to increase and support student agency in the learning process. Students attend full days of school, five days a week.
 
 
Contact Us
150 S. Third Ave., Arcadia CA 91006
Office Manager: Mrs. Kymberly Keepers
626.821.8371 x 7117
Fax 626.574.3806
kkeepers@ausd.net
 
Teachers: e-mail
Independent Study  
Mrs. Elizabeth Malinowski emalinowski@ausd.net
Mr. Antoine Le ale@ausd.net
Mr. Tamara Morales tmorales@ausd.net
Ms. Janine Juarez, Special Ed. jjuarez@ausd.net
Mr. Andrew Policky, PE apolicky@ausd.net
Ms. Caroline Wu, ELD cwu@ausd.net
Ms. Daniela Mazzeo dmazzeo@ausd.net
Mr. Matthew Lindahl mlindahl@ausd.net
   
Lab School  
Mrs. Jessica Vannasdall jvannasdall@ausd.net
Mrs. Lauren Reh lreh@ausd.net
   
Opportunity Program  
Ms. Antoine Le ale@ausd.net
   
Counselor:  Stephanie Perez sperez@ausd.net
   
Psychologist:  Nicole Brooks jnicolereed@ausd.net
   
Principal: John Tung jtung@ausd.net
 
 
For School Breakfast or Lunch information, please visit the Nutrition Department website at: